Uncategorized

adulthood?

 

 

A while back me and my good friend fell into a heated argument about something. I don’t remember what it was really. We said a lot of things we shouldn’t have. I mean a lot. But in all, the only words I remember to have pierced my ego with confusion were “you are an adult, act like one!”. Those words came with mixed messages, for one it felt kind of special to be considered a grown up but also portrayed as a juvenile. I don’t hold it against her. She’s an angel.

So, after that episode. I found time to do a little digging on being an adult and all. Google wasn’t much help. I read few books and articles and I must say, books make the simplest of things seem so hard to ground. Basically I didn’t get anything too convincing to me, so at the moment I still don’t quit know what it means to be an adult. One thing for sure though. I know a few too many instances of what being an adult doesn’t mean.

Being an adult is not all about being 18 and having a voter’s card or reaching the parting and drinking age. It’s not about escaping the teen class and clocking the 2 decades alive mentality. Being adult is not suggestively being tall and big or having beards and muscles. It’s not. According to my little research, it’s not entirely about age or masculinity when it comes to being an adult.

Being an adult is not also about a man’s prowess to sire a crowd number of babies at a tender age (18-29). It’s not about the number of girlfriends you’ve had or the hearts you’ve broke. It’s not about the number of hymen you’ve shuttered. It’s not even manliness in portray. Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against those who praise vociferously similar conquests.

Personally, I think it’s not even in currency of political and social affairs. You know, you find someone so intrigued and so eloquent tin political affairs and what not. Those kinds of people who can shape for you then economical paradigm shift in a giffy. The ones who know what’s happening, who’s doing it and all the why’s that can possibly exist. That isn’t proof or definition of adulthood.my say.,

I haven’t gotten the answer and at this rate I might just have to define it for myself. Oh, and am not an expert in all this so don’t take my word for it. But do think about it.

So what is being adult?

 

Leave a comment